Friday, February 03, 2006

Latin America:

Non-Aligned Nations Resist EU3 Over Iran
03 February 2006

MEHRNEWS.COM (IRAN) - Cuba, South Africa and Malaysia, forming the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) board (Pictured: NAM Logo), delayed the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Board of Governors’ meeting regarding Iran’s nuclear issue for two hours. NAM strongly disagreed with the European Union Three (EU3), comprised of Britain, Germany and France. over a draft resolution to report Iran to the United Nations (UN) Security Council. The five permanent UN Security Council members, plus Germany, seek a consensus in favor of the European Union (EU)-drafted resolution. However, Cuba and Venezuela said they will oppose moves to refer Iran to the UN Security Council. Though the IAEA traditionally achieves decisions by consensus, a vote will decide Iran’s referral to the UN Security Council if any country withholds consent.

Source Reliabilty: 7.0

Comment: The five permanent UN Security Council Members are: United States, China, Russian Federation and United Kingdom.


At 23 February, 2006 07:27, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Ashley Rules!!!!!!!!!!!


Post a Comment

<< Home